Viewing event logs

This page displays a log of events generated anywhere in the system, including jobs and workflows.

  • To see only events for a single workflow, select the Workflows tab, then a workflow Name to go to the Workflow Details page and click the View Log link at the top of the page.

  • To see only events for a single job, select the Jobs tab, then the Job name to go to the Job Details page and click the View Log link at the top of the page.

When running a job in a cluster, the name of the server managing the job is recorded in the job-log. If the management of the job moves to a different node (if the current node crashes for example) the change is logged into the job log as well.

For example, You might want to select the Object Type, "Log Entry", then click the Add Intrinsic Filter link. Select the down-arrow where you see "Container" auto-populated and select "Container Type". Use the "equals" operator, then select the next down-arrow to choose an object. Click OK to start the search.

NOTE:

  • From the Administration tab, the default view for this Event Log page is the warning (WARN) level.

  • For workflow and job event logs, the default view from their respective pages is the information (INFO) level.

Column descriptions

Time—This is the time the event was logged.

Severity—Can be either INFO, WARN, or ERROR. Use the pull-down menu at the top of the table to change between these views.

User—The user associated with the event—the user of the session at the time the event was generated. Clicking on a project link in this column takes you to the Project Details page for that project.

Container—Typically, this is the type and name of the workflow or job with a corresponding ID. Clicking on a link in this column takes you to the Job Details page for that job or workflow.

Subject—The object associated with the message. Clicking on a link in this column takes to you the source for this object.

Message—The message text will either be informational or display the warning or error message. The message may contain important information about a resource or workspace issue.

Configuring the Event Log

Because log entries can accumulate in large numbers, you can configure the Event Log for auto-deletion. By default, Event Log retention is 30 days. The CloudBees CD server automatically marks old log entries for deletion and the background deleter cleans out old log entries along with its other tasks.

To change the default settings, go to Administration > Server > Settings and modify the following two fields:

Event log retain time—Default is 30 days (in "minute" units).

Setting the "retain" period to "0" disables the automatic deletion mechanism, allowing you to use an external cleanup script to implement a custom cleanup policy.

Maximum background delete delay—Default is 3600 seconds (or one hour).

Click OK to save your changes.