Managing teams and permissions

The section describes how to update members on a team and how to manage permissions.

The team and permission management system allows you to scale your feature flagging settings to teams. Using the team and permission management system, you can do the following tasks:

  • Invite new users

  • Change user permissions

  • Delete a user from a CloudBees Rollout application

  • Delete a user from the team

Managing permissions

When logged in, click Permissions from the left-hand menu.

This will take you to the main permissions screen, where you will see a list of all users, initially you would only see yourself. This includes information about their name, email address, role, and access to any environments you have created.

Admin user

Only Admin users can create new applications, invite new users to an application, change their permissions, or delete users from an application or a team.

Inviting new users

To invite new users:

  1. Click Invite New User at the top right corner of the screen, just below your name.

  2. This will open a Invite New User dialog.

  3. Enter the email of the team member you would like to invite.

    1. If the user is already a member of your team in a different application, the user will appear in the drop-down menu for selection.

  4. Select the type of permission you would like to give that user and for which environment.

  5. There are two types of permissions:

    1. Read-Only - View all features deployment settings without the ability to change anything.

    2. Full Access - Edit all feature deployment settings.

  6. Click Add User or cancel.

  7. If you added a user, you will now see that user on the Permissions page.

    1. The user will have a pending label next to this name until they accept the invitation.

  8. The new user receives an email invitation to join the application.

Changing user permissions

To modify the permissions for a user:

  1. Click on the row corresponding to that user.

  2. You will now see a dialog box with the current user permissions settings for all environments. Make the desired changes and click Save.

Deleting a user from the application

To delete the user from the application:

  1. Click on the row corresponding to that user.

  2. You will now see a dialog with the current user permissions settings for all environments. Click Delete.

Managing teams

To get started managing teams:

  1. When logged in, click on your name on the top-right hand side to open the account settings menu.

  2. Click on Team Management.

Here you can see all the users that were invited to this team, their email, two-factor authentication status and which type of user they are.

Giving a user administration privileges

  1. Click on the desired user.

  2. A dialog box will appear, under the application name you will see a checkbox.

  3. Select the checkbox and click Update.

Deleting a user from the team

Removing a user from a team will remove them from all applications.

To delete the user from the team, you will need to remove the user from Team Management:

  1. Go to Team Management.

  2. Select the user and click Delete.

Impact on the existing feature flags after deleting a user from the team

There is no impact on the existing feature flags after a user is deleted from the team. You can still use the feature flags that the deleted user created. The default feature flag values can be used.